Book Review: Ashwatthama’s Redemption – The Rise of Dandak

Title: Ashwatthama’s Redemption – The Rise of Dandak
Author: Gunjan Porwal
Genre: Fiction, Literature, Indian Mythology
Pages: 264
Publisher: Om Books International

Rating: 4.3/5

I love reading mythological fiction but not each of them can be captivating enough. But in my opinion, after Amish Tripathi and Ashwin Sanghi, Gunjan Porwal, author of Ashwatthama’s Redemption: The Rise of Dandak, is the one to watch out for, for he has given his readers an amazing gift through his writing.

So, let’s get down to the review before I begin my rambling session.

Summary

The book is about Ashwatthama, Dronacharya’s son, who was cursed by Krishna after he broke the rules of warfare and killed all the children of the Pandavas to avenge his father’s death in Kurukshetra. He vows a life of solitude but when his friend, Vikram, comes to him for help, he cannot refuse. The Prince of Avanti, Rana, notices some strange happenings in his kingdom and along with Vikram comes to a conclusion that the demon, Dandak, is on the rise again.

Rana, along with Vikram and Ashwatthama set out on a journey to find the one thing that can stop Dandak from creating havoc. Through treacherous terrain and challenges at every turn, they surge ahead but also realise that Dandak has his eyes on them each moment.

What I Liked

Loved, rather. I simply cannot have enough of adventures such as this. I finished the book in a day, such was the pace of the story. A fast paced mythological thriller that is a treat to anyone who has an interest in the above mentioned genre.

The book is about Ashwatthama and what transpires with him after the Kurukshetra war. An absorbing story with twists and turns at every corner, I simply couldn’t stop reading! It has been long since I have done that, you know.

What I Did Not Like

Nothing that I can point my finger at, it was pretty awesome!

Other Details

Ashwatthama’s Redemption: The Rise of Dandak is a part of a series. I eagerly await the next one! Also, loved the cover.

Would I Recommend It?

If you like reading mythological fiction, then definitely yes! Do pick this book up, it is an amazing read!

 

Grab Your Copy Here

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑