Book Review: The Silver Dagger – The Vampires of Crimson Cove (Book 2)

Title: The Silver Dagger – The Vampires of Crimson Cove (Book 2)
Author: Alistair Cross
Genre: Fantasy, Horror
Pages: 480
Publisher: The Glass Apple Press

Rating: 4.2/5

My regular subscribers would know that I never, and I mean NEVER, read horror stories. I cannot watch such movies either. Let’s just say they are a bit creepy for me. You know, keeps me awake at night and makes me constantly looking out for shadows and such. It ain’t my cuppa tea.

But having read Alistair Cross before – namely Sleep Savannah Sleep (a thriller), I thought to give The Silver Dagger a try because I admire the author’s writing skills. And if you notice the rating, you’d get an idea of what I thought about it too.

So let’s get down to the review then, without further ado.

Summary

The book is a sequel to The Crimson Corset. Although it is a continuation, it feels like a standalone because of the thoughtful up-to-speed description by the author.

Two brothers, Cade and Brooks, live together along with Cade’s girlfriend Samantha in the small town of Crimson Cove. Having recently dealt with a dreadful vampire attack lead by Gretchen, the town seems to have got its pace back. But Gretchen and her assistants are planning a comeback and that too, very soon.

When Cade notices a change of behavior in Brooks, he brushes it off but soon realises that it is too late to do anything.

What I Liked

As you might have guessed by the title, it is a vampire story. Its my first time reading one and I just loved it! Yes, there are a few gory details but nothing that made me cringe and abandon the book. On the contrary, I just wanted the pages to keep turning!

I know the summary is very vague but trust me, this book is such a thriller, I didn’t want to give anything away.

Now, coming to the technicalities. As mentioned earlier, the writing skills of Alistair Cross – fantastic! One can just flow with the narration and experience the chilling details so aptly described by him. The plot sometimes toggles from the present to the past, and it is done impeccably. The story is taut and has enough twists and turns to excite the reader.

What I Did Not Like

Nothing as such. Of course, being a horror story there are bound to be some squeamish details but nothing too gross.

Other Details

This is the second book in the Crimson Corset series. I will be reading the first part and reviewing it too. Here are the Amazon purchase links for both the books:

The Crimson Corset (The Vampires of Crimson Cove Book 1)

The Silver Dagger: The Vampires of Crimson Cove Book 2

Would I Recommend It?

If you are a horror/vampire/thriller fan, the definitely! If, like me, you are a beginner at horror, then you can start with this. Don’t hesitate, it will only encourage you to read the genre more.

 

Buy the book:
Paperback | Kindle Edition

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑